# Thursday, February 25, 2010


Royal Mail has launched a new set of stamps to celebrate the Royal Society's 350th anniversary. The set of 10 stamps show some famous figures from the world's oldest science academy. They include Sir Isaac Newton, physicist and optical pioneer; Benjamin Franklin, inventor of the lightning conductor; Edward Jenner, inventor of vaccination; Charles Babbage, developer of programmable computers; Alfred Russel Wallace, pioneer of evolution theory; Joseph Lister, inventor of antiseptic surgery; Ernest Rutherford, founding father of nuclear physics; Dorothy Hodgkin, inventor of x-ray crystallography; and Sir Nicholas Shackleton, pioneer of climate research.